Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Exam Information

Anyone that enrolls to take the CSA Exam will have 1 year from date of enrollment to pass the exam with a final score of 70 or higher.  The fee for applying the CSA Certification Exam is $320 with a $75 application processing fee, bringing the total cost to $395.

Individuals that do not pass the exam on the first attempt will have to wait 30 days and pay a retest fee of $115 for all subsequent exam attempts.

Any individual that exceeds the 1 year exam timeline will have to re-apply for the exam and pay all applicable fees.

Candidates who fail the examination may retest again after a 30 day waiting period (from the last examination attempt). Candidates must re-apply, pay all applicable fees and meet the eligibility requirements in effect at the time of the re-test following the waiting period.

Exam Sections:

The CSA Exam consists of 9 Sections and 150 questions relating to social, financial, and medical aspects of aging. Individuals who do not pass the exam will receive a score breakdown, similar information to the table below, with the passing percentage for each section to help focus areas of study. No graded exam or exam answers will be given out under any circumstance. The purpose of the exam is to determine proficiency in areas of aging and is not intended to provide diagnostic feedback.


SECTION 1 Anthropology and Sociology 15.6%
SECTION 2 Family and Aging 9.6%
SECTION 3 Health and Wellness Aspects 11.9%
SECTION 4 Lifestyle Aspects 16.3%
SECTION 5 Financial Aspects 22.2%
SECTION 6 Eldercare Planning 8.9%
SECTION 7 Legal Aspects 5.9%
SECTION 8 End-of-Life Planning 2.9%
SECTION 9 Ethical Issues 6.7%

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal